SUMMARY OF THE ISACCEA PROJECT

 

In the period between 1997 and 2000, attempts were made to implement a project that would allow the supply of cheap electricity (approx. US$ 20 / MWh) from the Russian (RAO-SS-Rossii) and Ukrainian (Ukreenergo) power grids into the Romanian power grid.

 

The networking of the systems could only take place through a back-to-back station (B2B), i.e. switching from alternating current to direct current, and then back again.

 

During the aforementioned period, the following companies participated in this project:

 

 - Verbund APG Austria

 - E.ON and RWE from Germany

 - Transelectrica and Termoelectrica from Romania

 - Ukrenergo from Ukraine

 - RAO-ESS-Rossi from Russia

 - INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH / SRL from Germany and Romania

 

The solution discussed was to supply the Ukrainian electricity with only 400 kV through the 750-kV cable to the 750/400 kV Isaccea Station, Romania, where a B2B station would be installed in order to allow the transmission of 600 MW. The B2B station could then have been enlarged to 1200 MW.

 

The design of the B2B was planned to utilise converted elements from the 400-kV Vienna South Station, Austria, and the Etzenricht Station, Germany, which were operating as B2B stations with the Hungarian and Czech power grids.

 

The feasibility study produced with the direct participation of the companies E.ON, Verbund, INPEC, and indirectly by RWE, showed that the optimal solution would be the construction of the B2B within the 750/400-kV Isaccea Station.

 

It should be emphasised here that INPEC with its technical personnel contributed to the preparation of technical solutions for the installation of the systems from the 400-kV Vienna South Station and from Etzenricht in the 750/400-kV Isaccea Station, and that they handled the coordination of the negotiations between the representatives of the five countries (Romania, Austria, Germany, Russia and Ukraine).

 

The project ultimately was not realised, because the 750-kV cable suffered from operational disturbances on Ukrainian territory, to rectify which additional funds would have been required. In addition, the Russian partner hoped towards the end of the negotiations for direct connection of the Russian grid to UCPTE, in order to allow direct supply of electricity.

 

 

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRINT

RESUMEE ISACCEA

 

Im Zeitraum 1997 – 2000 versuchte man ein Projekt durchzuführen, das die Lieferung von billigem Strom (ca. 20 US$/MWh) aus dem russischen (RAO-SS-Rossii) und ukrainischen (Ukreenergo)  Energiesystem an das rumänische Energiesystem erlauben sollte.

 

Die Vernetzung der Systeme konnte nur durch eine Back-to-Back-Station (BBS) erfolgen, d.h. Umschalten von Wechselstrom auf Gleichstrom und wieder zu Wechselstrom.

 

An diesem Projekt nahmen im oben genannten Zeitraum folgende Firmen teil:

 

 - Verbund APG Österreich

 - E.ON und RWE aus Deutschland

 - Transelectrica und Termoelectrica aus Rumänien

 - Ukrenergo aus der Ukraine

 - RAO-ESS-Rossi aus Russland

 - INPEC  ENGINEERING GmbH / SRL aus Deutschland und Rumänien

 

Die besprochene Lösung war die Lieferung des ukrainischen Stroms durch die 750-kV-Leitung mit nur 400 kV bis zur 750/400 kV Station Isaccea,  Rumänien, wo eine B2B Station errichtet werden sollte, um die Übertragung von 600 MW zu erlauben. Die BBS hätte dann auf bis zu 1200 MW vergröβert werden können.

 

Die Ausführung der BBS war mit überführten Elementen aus der  400-kV-Station Wien Süd, Österreich, und der Etzenricht-Station, Deutschland, geplant, die als BBS-Stationen mit ungarischen bzw. tschechischen Energiesystemen in Betrieb waren.

 

Die unter direkter Teilnahme der Firmen E.ON, Verbund, INPEC und indirekt RWE ausgearbeitete Machbarkeitsstudie zeigte als optimale Lösung die Errichtung der BBS innerhalb der 750/400-kV-Station Isaccea.

 

Hier ist hervorzuheben, dass die Firma INPEC mit Hilfe ihrer Fachleute zur Ausarbeitung  von technischen Lösungen für die Aufstellung der aus der 400-kV-Station Wien Süd und aus Etzenricht kommenden Einrichtungen in der 750/400-kV-Station Isaccea beitrug und die Koordinierung der Verhandlungen zwischen den Vertretern der fünf Länder (Rumänien, Österreich, Deutschland, Russland und die Ukraine) übernahm.

 

Das Projekt kam letztendlich nicht zustande, weil die 750-kV-Leitung auf ukrainischem Gebiet Betriebsstörungen aufwies, für deren Beseitigung zusätzliche Finanzmittel erforderlich gewesen wären. Ausserdem hoffte der russische Partner  gegen Ende der Verhandlungen auf eine direkte Schaltung des russischen Systems an UCPTE, um direkte Stromlieferungen zu ermöglichen.

 

 

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRESSUM