PROJECTS IN NIGERIA 1973 – 1983

 

1973-1976

Eisenbau Essen GmbH (EBE), a subsidiary of Ferrostaal AG in Essen, was awarded the contract in 1973 to rehabilitate the mini-rolling mill of Nigersteel Industries Ltd in Emene, Enugu (the former Biafra), assigning Teodor Garabet with project management until 1976 after its completion and commissioning.

 

Teodor Garabet was able at the same time to acquire and implement several follow-up contracts that were confirmed by letter of credit of both Nigersteel and the local Nigerian Coal Corporation for EBE, in spite of the extremely difficult logistical conditions in the former Biafra.At the same time he created the basis for starting new projects for EBE in Lagos, the capital of Nigeria, with the Federal Ministry of Industries.

 

1976-1983

Owing to the successful start in Enugu, and thanks to the initial fundamental relationships with local decision-makers, Teodor Garabet transferred his acquisition activities in 1976 from Enugu to Lagos, receiving the first important opportunity to participate in a nine-figure invitation to tender of the Federal Ministry of Industries for EBE.

 

For almost four years, i.e. from early 1976 to late 1979, Teodor Garabet acquired on behalf of EBE (with the support of the parent company Ferrostaal AG) the turnkey contract for the construction of a rolling mill at the preferred location of Oshogbo. This acquisition was successful in the face of extremely tough, global, open and fair competition against several international competitors. After this success, several follow-up contracts totalling approximately half a billion Deutschmarks were added by 1983.

 

At the same time as the contracts for the Oshogbo project from 1980 to 1983, Teodor Garabet also acquired numerous study and engineering projects on behalf of EBE and other companies for various new industries of the Nigerian government worth a total of approximately 50 million Deutschmarks. These also included the construction of an integrated iron and steel plant for flat products in Ikot Abasi.

 

Under the management of Teodor Garabet and the local authorities, this was followed in the summer of 1983 by the laying of the foundation stone for the last-mentioned milestone project of EBE and Ferrostaal AG.

 

After he left the company in Nigeria in late 1983, EBE was able - together with Ferrostaal AG and Reynolds from the USA - to start the over 5 billion Deutschmark contract in cooperation with the newly set-up company ALSCON 1989 in the form of a joint venture with the Nigerian government at the same location of Ikot Abasi and put it into operation in the 1990s. This was a restructuring of the project from an original steelworks to an aluminium smelter. Alscon was bought up by the Russian company Russal in 2006. The ALSCON turnkey project was the largest in the history of Ferrostaal AG.

 

Picture Gallery

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRINT

PROJEKTE IN NIGERIA 1973-1983

 

1973-1976

Eisenbau Essen GmbH (EBE), Tochter der Ferrostaal AG in Essen, erhielt 1973 den Auftrag zur Rehabilitierung des Miniwalzwerks der Nigersteel Industries Ltd in Emene, Enugu (das frühere Biafra), und beauftragte Teodor Garabet mit der Projektleitung bis 1976 nach der Vollendung und Inbetriebsetzung.

 

Teodor Garabet konnte zur gleichen Zeit, unter den schwierigsten logistischen Bedingungen des früheren Biafras, mehrere akkreditivgedeckte Anschlussverträge sowohl von Nigersteel als auch von der lokalen Nigerian Coal Corporation für EBE akquirieren und ausführen. Gleichzeitig schaffte er die Basis, neue Projekte für EBE in Lagos, der Hauptstadt Nigerias, bei der Federal Ministry of Industries zu starten.

 

1976-1983

Aufgrund des erfolgreichen Einstiegs in Enugu und dank der ersten grundlegenden Beziehungen zu lokalen Entscheidungsträgern verlegte Teodor Garabet 1976 seine Akquisitionsaktivitäten von Enugu nach Lagos und erhielt die erste wichtige Gelegenheit, an einer neunstelligen Ausschreibung des Federal Ministry of Industries für EBE teilzunehmen.

 

Fast vier Jahre lang, d.h. von Anfang 1976 bis Ende 1979, akquirierte Teodor Garabet für die EBE (mit Unterstützung durch die Muttergesellschaft Ferrostaal AG) den schlüsselfertigen Auftrag für den Bau eines Walzwerkes an dem bevorzugten Standort Oshogbo. Diese Akquisition fand bei schärfstem, weltweit offenem und einwandfreiem Wettbewerb, gegen mehrere internationale Wettbewerber statt. Nach diesem Erfolg wurden bis 1983 mehrere Anschlussverträge in Höhe von insgesamt ca. einer halben Milliarde DM aufgestockt.

 

Zeitgleich mit den Aufträgen für das Projekt Oshogbo von 1980 bis 1983 akquirierte Teodor Garabet außerdem für EBE und andere Firmen zahlreiche Studien- und Engineeringprojekte für verschiedene neu verfolgte Industrien der nigerianischen Regierung von insgesamt ca. 50 Mio. DM. Hierzu zählt auch die Errichtung eines integrierten Hüttenwerkes für Flachprodukte in Ikot Abasi.

 

Im Sommer 1983 erfolgte unter der Leitung von Teodor Garabet und den lokalen Behörden die Grundsteinlegung für das zuletzt genannte Meilensteinprojekt der EBE und Ferrostaal AG.

 

Nach seinem Ausscheiden in Nigeria Ende 1983 konnte EBE mit Ferrostaal AG und Reynolds aus den USA, im Joint Venture mit der nigerianischen Regierung, an gleichem Standort, Ikot Abasi mit der neu gegründeten Gesellschaft ALSCON 1989 den über fünf Milliarden DM schweren Auftrag starten und in den neunziger Jahren in Betrieb nehmen. Hierbei handelte es sich um eine Umgestaltung des Projektes von ursprünglich einem Stahlwerk zu einem Aluminiumsmelter. Alscon wurde vom russischen Unternehmen Russal im Jahr 2006 aufgekauft. Das ALSCON-Turnkey-Projekt war das größte in der Geschichte der Ferrostaal AG.

 

Bildergalerie

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRESSUM