PROJECTS IN SAUDI ARABIA 1983 – 1992

 

1983-1986

On behalf of Eisenbau Essen GmbH and its parent company Ferrostaal AG, Teodor Garabet took over the acquisition work in the region of Saudi Arabia and the neighbouring countries for the years from 1983 to 1986. This was the time of the impending recession of the OPEC countries due to the slump in the global price of oil.

 

The first task was to find the right sponsor. Through the mediation of the management of Eisenbau Essen GmbH, it was possible for Teodor Garabet to acquire the industrial group Al Zamil for both Eisenbau Essen and Ferrostaal. A very close personal relationship developed with the decision-makers of the holding, such as Khalid al Zamil, Dr Abdul Rahman al Zamil, Mohammed al Zamil and Adip al Zamil, which also continued for many years after 1986.

 

The Al Zamils had ideal connections with Abdul Aziz al Zamil in his function as Industry Minister and Dr Abdul Rahman al Zamil as Secretary of State in the Ministry of Trade and well-known grey eminence of the kingdom so that the successful sponsoring of all potential customers was ensured.

 

Teodor Garabet was entrusted with the task of acquiring the new young company for industrial development NIC National Industrialisation Company as a partner with regard to the complementary downstream industrial projects such as a wire drawing plant. Saudi SABIC as a primary processing raw material group was to provide steel billets to NIC.

 

Thanks to the then head of NIC Dr Mahsun Jalal, a partnership developed with the aim of structuring this wire drawing plant on the spacious industrial platform of Al Jubail in the Persian Gulf, which after several years of marketing was finally built by the Voest Group.

 

With the help of the sponsor Al Zamil, in particular Khalid al Zamil, Teodor Garabet acquired the first order for a feasibility study from Sabic and Eisenbau Essen GmbH for executing the important project of an integrated iron and steel plant for flat products at the same location as the wire drawing plant, until he left Eisenbau Essen in 1986.

 

 

1989-1991

During his stay in Los Angeles, USA, Teodor Garabet was deployed for the second time on behalf of Saudi Arabia.

In the period 1989 – 1991 Teodor Garabet was initially able to prequalify the German firm Mannesmann Anlagenbau in Düsseldorf with the Saudi Arabian corporate group and oil giant Aramco, before successfully acquiring with his own firm at the time Petraco SA in Los Angeles an over $200 million turnkey infrastructure contract of Aramco to double the transport of oil from the Persian Gulf to the Red Sea in the face of worldwide competition.

 

Picture Gallery

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRINT

PROJEKTE IN SAUDI ARABIEN 1983-1992

 

1983-1986

Im Auftrag der Eisenbau Essen GmbH und der Muttergesellschaft Ferrostaal AG übernahm Teodor Garabet die Akquisitionsarbeit in der Region Saudi-Arabien und den Nachbarländern für die Jahre 1983 bis 1986. Dies war die Zeit der sich anbahnenden Rezession der Opec-Länder wegen des Verfalls des weltweiten Ölpreises.

 

Die erste Aufgabe war, den richtigen Sponsor zu gewinnen. Durch Vermittlung der Leitung von Eisenbau Essen GmbH konnte Teodor Garabet den Industriekonzern Al Zamil sowohl für Eisenbau Essen als auch für Ferrostaal überzeugen. Es entstand ein sehr enges persönliches Verhältnis zu den Entscheidungsträgern der Holding wie Khalid al Zamil, Dr. Abdul Rahman al Zamil, Mohammed al Zamil und Adip al Zamil, das auch nach 1986 noch jahrelang fortbestand.

 

Die Al Zamils waren mit Abdul Aziz al Zamil als Industrieminister und Dr. Abdul Rahman al Zamil als Staatssekretär im Handelsministerium bestens besetzt und die bekannte graue Eminenz des Königreichs, um das Sponsoring bei allen potenziellen Kunden erfolgreich zu gewährleisten.

 

Teodor Garabet wurde mit der Aufgabe betraut, die neue junge Gesellschaft für Industrieentwicklung NIC National Industrialisation Company als Partner im Hinblick auf die komplementären Downstream-Industrieprojekte, wie z.B. eine Drahtzieherei zu gewinnen. Saudi SABIC sollte als primär verarbeitender Rohstoffkonzern der NIC Stahlknüppel zur Verfügung zu stellen.

 

Dank des damaligen Leiters der NIC, Dr. Mahsun Jalal, entstand eine Partnerschaft mit dem Ziel, diese Drahtzieherei auf der großzügigen Industrieplattform Al Jubail am Persischen Golf zu gestalten, die nach mehreren Marketingjahren schließlich von der Gruppe Voest gebaut wurde.

 

Teodor Garabet konnte mit Hilfe des Sponsors Al Zamil, insbesondere von Khalid al Zamil, den ersten Auftrag für eine Machbarkeitsstudie von der Sabic akquirieren und von Eisenbau Essen GmbH für das bedeutende Projekt eines integrierten Hüttenwerkes für Flachprodukte mit gleichem Standort wie für die Drahtzieherei, ausführen lassen, bis zu seinem Ausstieg bei Eisenbau Essen im Jahr 1986.

 

 

1989-1991

Während seines Aufenthaltes in Los Angeles, USA, fand der zweite Einsatz von  Teodor Garabet in Saudi-Arabien statt.

In den Jahren 1989 – 1991 konnte Teodor Garabet im Auftrag der deutschen Firma Mannesmann Anlagenbau in Düsseldorf diese beim saudi-arabischen Konzern und Ölmulti Aramco zuerst präqualifizieren und anschließend mit seiner eigenen damaligen Firma Petraco SA in Los Angeles einen über 200 Mio. Dollar-Turnkey-Infrastrukturauftrag der Aramco zur Verdoppelung des Öltransportes vom Persischen Golf zum Roten Meer, bei weltweiter Konkurrenz, erfolgreich akquirieren.

 

Bildergalerie

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRESSUM