THE JEWELERS MALL OF LOS ANGELES

 

1986-1990

LUXURIOUS SHOPPING CENTRE IN LOS ANGELES, USA

WJM Partnership from Los Angeles, USA assigned Teodor Garabet as a temporary partner and general project manager with the downtown "Jewelers Mall of Los Angeles" project in Hill Street from October 1986 on. His assignment was to plan and construct the most beautiful jewellery shopping mall in the city.

 

One year earlier the partners had acquired - as an imitation of 47th Street in New York - a high-rise building in the same street and redesigned this property as the first centre with an outstanding increase in its current market value.

 

Coming from Biafra and Oshogbo in Nigeria and from the landscape of Saudi Arabia and other Gulf States, Teodor Garabet had become immersed in the American world in order to find planning and contractual success with completely different key data.

 

WJM Partnership established for Teodor Garabet the crucial political relationships with Mayor Tom Bradley, Interior District Mayor Gilbert Lindsay, County Supervisor Mike Antonovich and Police Chief of the city centre Bill Chambers in order to support the design and construction.

 

The political support was provided owing to the enormous influence of the project, even though this only involved the moderate amount of approximately $30 million.

 

Through the radical reconstruction of the outdated downtown area to the west of 6th Street and Pershing Square, it was possible to create additional jobs, additional income from trade tax and the initial breakout of the modern building style similar to the elegant building projects in the famous quarter around Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills.

 

In spite of all of the aforementioned support, there were nevertheless serious legal conflicts with the underground railway authority owing to the first planned underground railway project that crossed under the existing land of the project, which were associated with significant structural restrictions and loss of business.

 

However, thanks to the active legal and financial resistance displayed by Teodor Garabet, the partnership was able to achieve a result entailing out-of-court financial success.

 

In spite of further unforeseen hurdles in terms of underground contamination and the resulting conflicts with the EPA environmental agency, as well as numerous conflicts with the building and fire authorities and several disputes with the construction and architectural firms, there were no significant delays to successful completion of the project.

 

On 19 October 1990 the official inauguration was held in the presence of all of the above-mentioned celebrities, as well as television and other media.

 

Teodor Garabet was presented with awards not only by the city, but also the state of California.

 

Picture Gallery

 

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRINT

THE JEWELERS MALL OF LOS ANGELES

 

1986-1990

LUXURIÖSES EINKAUFSZENTRUM IN LOS ANGELES, USA

WJM Partnership aus Los Angeles, USA gewann für das in Downtown an der Hill Street geplante Projekt „The Jewelers Mall of Los Angeles“ ab Oktober 1986 Teodor Garabet als temporären Partner und Gesamtprojektleiter. Sein Auftrag bestand darin, die schönste Juwelier-Einkaufspassage der Stadt zu planen und zu bauen.

 

Die Partner hatten einige Jahre zuvor, als Nachahmung der 47. Straße in New York, ein Hochhaus in der gleichen Straße akquiriert und dieses Objekt als erstes Zentrum mit einem fulminanten Verkehrswertzuwachs umgebaut.

 

Teodor Garabet war aus Biafra und Oshogbo in Nigeria und von der Landschaft Saudi-Arabiens und anderer Golfstaaten kommend in die amerikanische Welt eingetaucht, um planerisch und vertraglich mit ganz anderen Eckdaten erfolgreich zu werden.

 

Die WJM Partnership erschloss für Teodor Garabet die unabdingbaren politischen Beziehungen zum Oberbürgermeister Tom Bradley, Innendistrict-Bürgermeister Gilbert Lindsay, County Supervisor Mike Antonovich und zum Polizeichef der Innenstadt Bill Chambers, um die Planungen und den Bau zu unterstützen.

 

Die politische Unterstützung erfolgte aufgrund des enormen Einflusses des Projektes, wenn auch wertmäßig bescheiden mit ca. 30 Mio. Dollar.

 

Durch eine radikale Umgestaltung des veralteten Downtown-Areals westlich der 6. Straße und des Pershing Squares erzielte man die Schaffung von zusätzlichen Arbeitsplätzen, Mehreinnahmen aus Gewerbesteuer und einen ersten Durchbruch des modernen Baustils ähnlich den eleganten Bauobjekten im berühmten Stadtviertel rund um den Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills.

 

Bei aller bereits erwähnten Unterstützung entstanden trotzdem gravierende rechtliche Konflikte mit der U-Bahn-Behörde aufgrund des geplanten ersten U-Bahn-Projektes der Stadt quer unter dem bestehenden Grundstück des Projektes, die mit großen baulichen Einschränkungen bzw. mit Geschäftsverlust verbunden waren.

 

Dank des aktiven juristischen und wirtschaftstechnischen Widerstands von Teodor Garabet kam es jedoch zu einem Ergebnis mit außergerichtlichen finanziellen Erfolgen für die Partnerschaft.

 

Trotz weiterer unvorhergesehener Hürden im Bereich der Untergrundverschmutzung und den daraus entstehenden Konflikten mit der Umweltbehörde EPA sowie zahlreichen Konflikten mit der Bau- und Feuerbehörde und auch mehreren Streitfällen mit den Bau- und Architekturfirmen wurde die erfolgreiche Fertigstellung nicht wesentlich verzögert.

 

Am 19.10.1990 fand die offizielle Einweihung im Beisein aller oben genannten Prominenten sowie des Fernsehens und anderer Medien statt.

 

Teodor Garabet wurden sowohl Auszeichnungen der Stadt als auch des Staates Kalifornien verliehen.

 

 

Bildergalerie

(c) 2013 INPEC ENGINEERING GmbH | HOME | IMPRESSUM